Anesthesia Department Mission Statement:

The anesthesiologists of the Department of Anesthesia are committed to the Staten Island community, Staten Island University Hospital, the Heart Institute, and the Center for Ambulatory Surgery in providing patients with safe, high quality anesthesia care. We strive to deliver to our patients comprehensive anesthesia services in a dedicated, caring and compassionate manner.

The Department provides anesthesia services at Staten Island University Hospital and all of its satellite locations. Our department consists of 52 Anesthesiologists. We provide anesthesia services to multiple specialties including Obstetrics and Gynecological Surgery, Pediatrics, Cardiothoracic Surgery, Neurosurgery, Plastic Surgery, Orthopedic Surgery, General Surgery, ENT, Bariatric Surgery, Vascular Surgery and Trauma. The Department has fellowship-trained pediatric, obstetric, cardiothoracic and pain management anesthesiologists. The Department is also dedicated to the education of the anesthesia residents and students in all aspects of anesthesia.

Visit Lifeline to Modern Medicine for more information regarding Anesthesia.

Department Directors:

Dr. Charles Vonfrolio

Chairman of Anesthesia
Dr. Steven Shery

Assistant Director of Anesthesia / Director of Center for Ambulatory Surgery

Dr. Robert Gasalberti Director of Performance Improvement
Dr. Faiz Hasham

Director of Obstetric Anesthesia

Dr. Scott Sadel

Director of Cardiothoracic Anesthesia

Dr. Jack Hajjar

Assistant Director of Center for Ambulatory Surgery

Dr. Paul Grube Director of Residency Program
Dr. Dewan Haque Assistant Director of Residency Program
Dr. Kenneth Chapman Director of Pain Management

Anesthesia Department

Carlos Alcala, MD

Downstate Medical Student Liaison

Indra Ananda, MD

Simon Avshalumov, MD

Than Than Aye, MD

Donald Baldovin, MD

Peter Bauer, MD

Peter Bennardo, MD

Circulating Anesthesiologist in charge of OR North

Nicola Bereanda, MD

Xuan Joy Cai, MD

Timothy Canty, MD

Pain Management

Kenneth Chapman, MD Director of Pain Management

Michel Costes, MD

Flynn Joseph Delaney, MD

Joseph De Sena, MD

Associate Director Continuing Medical Education Program

Sudhir Diwan, MD Assistant Director of Pain Management

Mariam Doss, MD

Obinna Efobi, MD

Robert Gasalberti, MD

Performance Improvement Program Director / Associate Director Continuing Medical Education Program

Sameh S. George, MD

Aziz Ghobriel, MD

Paul Grube, MD

Director of Residency Program

Veeranjaneya Guttikonda, MD

Jack Hajjar, MD

Assistant Director of Center for Ambulatory Surgery

Dewan Haque, MD Assistant Director of Residency Program

Faiz Hasham, MD

Director of Obstetric Anesthesia

Michael Kaplan, MD
Eduard Krishtul, MD

Jeffrey Lampert, MD

Oliver Lee, MD

Brian McHugh, MD

Yevgeniy Palatnik, MD
Kiran Patel, MD Pain Management
Radika Rampa, MD

Scott Sadel, MD

Director of Cardiothoracic Anesthesia

Roland Salinas, MD

Ayanna Scoggin, MD

Steven Shery, DO

Assistant Director of Anesthesia / Director of Center for Ambulatory Surgery

Jing Song, MD

Tamana Soomro, MD

AnnMarie Stilwell, MD

Pain Management

Eric Thantun, MD

Shan Theventhiran

Mahrous Tobia, MD

Carmelo Turrisi, MD

Hasumati Vashi, MD

Charles Vonfrolio, MD

Chairman of Anesthesia

Alan Weissburg, MD

Michael Youssef, MD

Evelen Zaky, MD

Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists / Nurse Practitioner

Amy Barreda, CRNA

Frank Furio, CRNA

Babi Usman, CRNA

Peter Bockmeyer, CRNA

Alesia Kelsey Gadraj, CRNA

Christine Whelan, NP Pain Managemen

Joseph Caputo, CRNA

Pamela Glennon, CRNA

Anna Kosmider, PA Pain Management

Mary Caputo, CRNA Corazon Gatchalian, CRNA
Lorna Co, CRNA Roland Reyes, CRNA
Lauren Cuccia, CRNA Shailendra Sinha, CRNA