The Department of Neuroscience consists of the Department of Neurology and the Department of Neurosurgery.

The Department of Neurology is staffed by 9 Board Certified Adult and Pediatric Neurologists with special expertise in headache, Alzheimer's Disease, stroke, epilepsy, Multiple Sclerosis and Parkinson's Disease in addition to general neurology.

The staff includes:

  • Dr. Souhel Najjar, Chair of Neurology
  • Dr. Nwanneka Okolo, Director of Pediatric Neurology
  • Dr. Ludmilla Feldman, Neuorologist
  • Dr. Arun Babu, Assistant Director of Graduate Medical Education
  • Dr. Stephen Kulick, Immediate Past Director of the Department of Neuroscience
  • Dr. Suying Song, Neuorologist

A Comprehensive Epilepsy Center has been established that includes a full range of epilepsy care services for children and adults. A 6-bed inpatient unit and outpatient services are available.

The Neuroscience floor consists of a 24-bed unit dedicated to Neurology/Neurosurgery, including a 6-bed stroke unit and a 4-bed Neuroscience Intensive Care Unit. Neurological services consist of a full range of electrodiagnostic facilities including EEG, EMG, EP's and intraoperative monitoring as well as general and subspecialty neurology consultations.

The Neurology house staff consists of 7 medical residents on the Neuroscience floor and 7 medical residents in neurology consultation. In addition there are 4 third-and fourth- year medical students and one PGY 3 or 4 neurology resident rotating from SUNY Health Science Center Downstate Medical Center.

The Neurology Department also staffs 20 General Neurology, Pediatric Neurology, MS and Seizure Disorder Clinics monthly.