SIUH Graduates 109 Residents


Staten Island University Hospital graduates 109 residents

Published: Thursday, June 02, 2011, 10:19 AM     Updated: Thursday, June 02, 2011, 10:33 AM
Staten Island Advance


STATEN ISLAND, N.Y. — Anthony C. Ferreri, president and CEO of the hospital, praised the physicians and dentists who received diplomas from their respective department heads.

“I feel grateful to be here, to stand in front of you to say how grateful I am,” Ferreri said, adding, “for even in the darkest days of the recent economic downturn and decreases in teaching hospital reimbursement, Staten Island University Hospital’s teaching program survives and thrives.”

Graduation marked a turning point for doctors completing one to five years of residency. Those completing training in surgery, internal medicine, pediatrics, dentistry, and medical specialties either chose to go into practice or continue their education by doing fellowships. Diplomas also were given to residents who finished a residency year and to those transferring to residency programs at other hospitals.

“You have your own awesome responsibilities. Responsibilities you have chosen and trained for during years of preparation. But with this responsibility, you also have great authority in which you literally decide the fate of other people and to help people in a healing way exclusive to your profession,” Ferreri said.

The hospital, which started as the former Samuel R. Smith Infirmary and graduated its first intern in 1892, is celebrating its 150th anniversary this year Said Ferreri: “Our hospital’s tradition and vision has been continuous for 150 years now. Medical education has grown from its infant stages back in 1892, when the first intern, Dr. Richard H. Platz, was graduated.”

Meet the SIUH Class of 2011

Chief Residents in Internal Medicine

Abhirami Vivekanandarajah, M.D., Faisal Bin Saiful, M.D., Jennifer B. Ross, M.D.

Residents in Internal Medicine

Anisha Kumar, M.B.B.S., Ashish Koirala, M.B.B.S., Daniel M. Miller, M.D., Elie Hatem, M.D., Estelle Torbey, M.D., Evelina Markman, M.D., Ezra Ceasar Israel, M.D., Isabelle Ayoub, M.D., Jacques Abi Rached, M.D., Jean-Paul Atallah, M.D., Kumud Dahal, M.B.B.S., Layla Georges Kamal, M.D., Muhammad Salman Akhtar, M.B.B.S., Neil D. Jaglall, M.D., Nisarg Rajendra Desai, M.B.B.S., Parishram Bipinchandra Patel, M.B.B.S., Peguy Joseph Saad, M.D., Rabih Nasr, M.D., Romel Hernandez Gobunsuy, M.D., Sahar Mosadegh, M.D., Sainath Gaddam, M.B.B.S., Samer El Zarif, M.D., Sanaa Rizk, M.D., Taher Musa Saghir, M.D., Tariq Mohi Ud Din Bhat, M.B.B.S.

Preliminary Residents in Internal Medicine
Abigail R. Cooper, M.D., Allen Steven Mosenkis, M.D., Boris Yaguda, M.D., Daniel Aaron Strauchler, M.D., David Joshua Krausz, M.D., Eliyahu Nachum Cooper, M.D., Esther Psaty Williams, M.D., Ingy A. Hanna, M.D., Kanagalingam Gopalan, M.B.B.S., Marina Kogut, M.D., Puja Appasaheb Naik, M.D., Rahul Shivaji Pathak, M.D., Robert Ernest Tartaglione, M.D., Thomas Berk, M.D.

Fellows in Cardiovascular Disease

Fady Henri Geha, M.D., Georges Milad Abou Rjaili, M.D.

Fellows in Geriatric Medicine

Aristotle P. Cochon, M.D., Clarinelda Campusano Rojas, M.D., Scott Jordan Silver, M.D., Valeriya Vaynshteyn, M.D.

Fellows in Hematology/Oncology
Rabih Said, M.D., Shilpi Gupta, M.B.B.S.

Fellows in Nephrology
Michael M. Goldman, M.D., Norbert Shtaynberg, D.O.

Chief Residents in General Surgery
Brian Michael Giordano, M.D., Michael Ian Horowitz, M.D., Ming-Li Wang, M.D.

Residents in General Surgery
Anik Sachdeva, M.B.B.S., Brian Michael Giordano, M.D., Deliana Ilieva Peykova, M.D., Emad Aldy Fakhoury Barsoum, M.B., B.Ch., Gaurav Sahay, M.D., Gerges E. Makar, M.B., B.Ch., Gianhna Altagracia Gil Sanchez, M.D., Kimberly C. Bowman, M.D., M.P.H., Liza Dennise Gonzalez, M.D., Luca Milone, M.D., Michael Ian Horowitz, M.D., Ming-Li Wang, M.D., Nayana Sharad Parekh, M.B.B.S., M.H.A., Pieter Jan Sebastian Smit, M.D.

Research Residents in General Surgery

Aldo T. Gamarra, M.D., Pamela Tan, M.D., Patrick Fei, M.D.

Chief Resident in Podiatric Medicine and Surgery
Amir Dastgah, D.P.M.

Residents in Podiatric Medicine and Surgery

Amir Dastgah, D.P.M., Javaria Rehman Chaudhry, D.P.M., Reema Dua, D.P.M., Sophia Kazma Masri, D.P.M.

Fellow in Minimally Invasive and Bariatric Surgery
Abdul Sulaiman Bangura, M.B., B.Ch.

Fellow in Vascular Surgery
Kuldeep Singh, M.D.

Fellows in Surgical Pathology

Marina Landa, M.D., Michael C. Awasum, M.D.

Burn Resident in Surgery
Mohammed Shahid Siddiqui, M.B.B.S.

Chief Residents in Obstetrics and Gynecology
Maria Florencia Molina Boero, M.D., Namrata Singhania, M.D., Robert Kilmer Hunter II, M.D.

Residents in Obstetrics and Gynecology

Maria Florencia Molina Boero, M.D.Namrata Singhania, M.D.Robert Kilmer Hunter II, M.D.

First Year Residents in Obstetrics and Gynecology

Brittany Leigh Stam, M.D.Heba Rafat Tajwar, M.D.Shaveta Malik Tahiliani, M.D.

Chief Resident in Diagnostic Radiology
Janice Hwang, M.D.

Residents in Diagnostic Radiology

David Jadali Aria, M.D., Janice Hwang, M.D., Philip Brandeis McDonald, M.D.

Chief Resident in Pediatrics
Hadassa Teitelbaum, M.D.

Chief Residents in General Practice Dentistry
Angela Bova, D.D.S., Jocelyn Padilla Magahis, D.D.S., Revital Tzur, D.D.S.

Residents in General Practice Dentistry
Abhishek Chandra, D.M.D., Faeq Afridi, D.D.S., Jacqueline Mikhly Simanovsky, D.M.D., John James Browne, D.D.S., Kathleen Anne Van Vorst, D.M.D., Lela D. Matthes, D.D.S., Mikhail Nasakin, D.D.S., Nishith Patel, D.D.S., Poonam Narula, D.D.S., Rebecca Suzanne Jackson, D.D.S., Rimma Portman, D.D.S., Ryan Thomas Galligan, D.M.D., Stephanie Leigh Trottnow, D.M.D., Angela Bova, D.D.S., Jocelyn Padilla Magahis, D.D.S., John D’Annunzio, D.M.D., Revital Tzur, D.D.S.

Chief Resident in Pediatric Dentistry

Lisa Bui Nguyen, D.D.S.

Residents in Pediatric Dentistry

Iyer Sathish, D.D.S., Lindsey Ray Davies, D.D.S., Lisa Bui Nguyen, D.D.S.

© 2011 SILive.com. All rights reserved.

Related Articles